11 replies to this topic

#1 hazzaRX04

hazzaRX04

• Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts

Posted 01 June 2015 - 08:14 AM

Hi All,

Sorry I'm an epic noob on this site but i have a topic i need some input on.

I'm looking for a double din head unit to upgrade the missus' car stereo so she has reversing camera but im also keen to make sure its got nav in it as well.

my functional preferences with the head units im looking at are as follows (in order)

reverse camera ready

steering wheel control (be able to tap into the OE steering wheel controls)

navigation ready

DVD (not needed but i see they all have them)

im looking to spend anywhere around the $600 mark, but well aware to get anything decent from the states ill be pushing closer to the $1000 mark.

im pretty keen on a kenwood or pioneer as i know the brands and they are reliable ( i think)

here is a few ive found so far but i dont know the best (and cheapest place to buy)

Pioneer NEX
http://www.pioneerel.../GPS-Navigation

Kenwood
http://www.kenwood.c...ion/dnx4150dab/

the pioneer NEX are pretty sweet, however if i could get a Nav that doesnt require my phone to use its data i'd prefer it.

any advice would be awesome and thanks in advance.

(also sorry if ive poseted thins in the wrong spot)

cheers

(my Missus' car isnt a subaru, however owning a subaru and being part of this group i know this is the audience i would prefer to hear from :P )

#2 Niko

Niko

Member's Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 7,511 posts

Posted 01 June 2015 - 11:23 PM

Hey Mate,

I'm currently upgrading the unit in my car. I bought an OEM NAVI/DVD unit, and will be adding Reverse Camera function, it obviously comes with steering wheel controls etc as it's OEM and from same model Forester.

I would investigate whether the manufacturer brought out factory nav in the model of car you are upgrading. If not I found the Pioneer systems, when I was looking at aftermarket, to be the better end of the scale.