• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Tasrider90

Tasrider90

• Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 25 October 2015 - 07:38 PM

How you going guys, I'm thinking about buying some 17inch wheels for my 2000 heritage wagon. If I buy the wheels they'll probably sit around until I put new tyres on them and buy a set of lowering springs.
My question is, if I replace the factory 16 alloys with 17s and put in the springs in which are meant to lower it 30-35mm, how low profile will my tyres need to be to not raise the stock ride height of the car (if that's possible)?

Probably a dumb question but I'm pretty new to cars (always been a motorbike guy), cheers for any input guys! :-)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#2 CRUISN

CRUISN

Doin it my way.

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,970 posts
  • Interests:Family, Surfing, Cars.

Posted 25 October 2015 - 07:58 PM

215 45 17 is oem size.

OEM+

#3 zahmad

zahmad

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 967 posts

Posted 25 October 2015 - 10:32 PM

As mark said, oem tyre size for 17's are 215 45 17 across all Liberty generations. Tyre size will not be affected unless you go crazy low by lowering the ride height...

#4 Tasrider90

Tasrider90

• Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 26 October 2015 - 07:54 AM

Okay, so my liby already has 17s?
Sorry I'm a bit spastic. Aha

So if I stick 17s on it with the springs my ride height will stay the same?? Sorry to be frustrating I'm just confused.

#5 allpaw4

allpaw4

Chief Sparky

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,133 posts
  • Interests:Cars, Stereos, Electrical

Posted 26 October 2015 - 09:21 AM

Car sizing doesn't work the same as 4wd's (which is what it sounds like you've come from). 17's mentioned regarding cars is the rim diameter, not the finished rim and tyre diameter.
Ride height generally doesn't get altered via tyre sizing with cars (even though it can be), it is generally changed by changing out the springs for shorter ones.