• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Allan

Allan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 23 January 2016 - 07:12 PM

Hey guys, I'm a college student, I bought this bg5 from some guy, it wouldn't start, (and he was selling it at a throwaway price) I replaced it's engine with another ej15 I had lying around. Still, the car cranks but won't start. Everything else seems to be working well(lights, horn,A/c... not bad for a car that has been asleep for 3 years and counting)... what could be the problem? Any suggestions? I had installed some new spark plugs before I swapped it's engine, it still doesn't start. Any suggestions would be great.

#2 Jimbo

Jimbo

Livin' the Legacy

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,771 posts

Posted 23 January 2016 - 10:52 PM

Check that it's getting spark by taking off a spark plug lead and seeing if it arcs on something when you crank it over. If you have spark then it's probably something fuel. Can you hear the fuel pump prime when you turn onto reds?

'04 Liberty GT Premium "The Sprog Chariot"

#3 Allan

Allan

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 24 January 2016 - 01:00 AM

I took off the leads as I was cranking at first one side wasn't throwing sparks as it should but then at times they both throw sparks. What could be causing this? I had a hunch that this could be the problem?

#4 Grayfox

Grayfox

• Members
  • Pip
  • 22 posts

Posted 24 January 2016 - 08:40 AM

You need to find a wiring diagram to fix electrical issues mate
Check fuses, ect

#5 Shaz

Shaz

Differential Studios

• SC Videographer
  • 23,188 posts

Posted 24 January 2016 - 08:57 AM

It's either fuel, spark or air. Check to see if you've got fuel flow at the manifold. Check to see if you've got a spark. Check the air flow meter. If you think it might be spark, start and the leads and work your way back through the electrical system that generates the spark.

As above wiring diagram will help, or find a service manual.

Good luck mate!