• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Josh_2012Outback

Josh_2012Outback

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 February 2017 - 01:18 PM

Hi, I've just purchased a 2012 Outback 2.5i petrol auto, 75,000km on the clock. I am looking to gear it up for some minor 4x4 adventures. I'm new to all this, so any feedback is appreciated please. 

Type of Travel:
95%+ city and highway driving (on the M1 from Sydney to Gosford/Newcastle).
I'd be going once a month off-road on camping trips - small rocks, bumpy dirt roads, dawn and dusk driving on country roads, occasional sand and mud.

PROPOSED MODIFICATIONS:
SubaXtreme bull bar ($2,500 installed) or number plate mount for lights ($20) - Not sure if the bull bar is necessary? Don't want to mess around with a nudge bar as they won't protect me from a roo. All or nothing (bull bar or cheap light bar).
SubaXtreme sump guard (approx. $400) - is it necessary?
Hayman Reece Tow Bar $820 (also will a useful recovery point).
I'm not keen on a lift kit due to the effect on handling and wear on CV joints etc.

GEAR:
- Uniden 8060 UHF radio with GME front mounted antenna ($330)
- 5 Inch 60w LED Driving Lights ($400)
- ARB Tyre repair kit and ARB quick deflator
-5,000kg snatch strap
- X-Treme Exhaust Air Jack (because it cost me $50 and it's worth $300)
- Bushranger Recovery Tracks (Worth $200, got them free. the roll up rubber ones, not the "Maxx Tracks" hard track ones)
- Bushranger Air Compressor (RRP $250)
- NOCO Jump Starter Battery ($170)
- Australian Direct KICK-ASS Deep Cycle 15,000mAh battery for camp lights, 12v kettle, charging phones etc.
- Kings Rooftop Awning to mount to roof racks ($100)
- Second spare tyre with rim (currently I only have the "max 80km/hour" spare) ?

Would you recommend the sump guard/bull bar for my driving?