Jump to content


Photo

Another JECS ECU tuning option...

JECS tuning ECU

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 duncanm

duncanm

    wha' who ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 20 April 2017 - 12:14 PM

Just stumbled across this canadian mob: https://lambdatuning.com/blog/

 

Looks like a very decent price (< $400) for a tunable solution to your JECS ECU.



#2 Beckers

Beckers

    OMR TT Cubt

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,829 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South of the border, Blackburn
  • Interests:Docka

Posted 21 April 2017 - 09:50 PM

Looks interesting m8.

Eculabs was only a bit more cash.



#3 duncanm

duncanm

    wha' who ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 24 April 2017 - 10:16 AM

Ah yes - but this appears to offer re-tune without sending your ECU off the Europe for hardware mods.



#4 crjohnson

crjohnson

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 25 May 2017 - 12:34 PM

The first 1 in Oz! Woohoo! 

 

Could be fun, especially since it allows you to run boost on N/A engines! 

 

19174570.JPG



#5 crjohnson

crjohnson

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 25 May 2017 - 12:51 PM

Also it cost about $520 to landed.. 



#6 surge

surge

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts

Posted 25 May 2017 - 05:54 PM

Looking forward to more updates!

#7 crjohnson

crjohnson

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 25 May 2017 - 10:13 PM

Updates will be a bit slow sorry, have a shipload to learn before even starting to modify anything! Will be really interesting if it can help with that annoying outback on/off throttle jerk.



#8 duncanm

duncanm

    wha' who ?

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,836 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 25 May 2017 - 11:01 PM

very interested to see how this goes..



#9 crjohnson

crjohnson

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 15 June 2017 - 08:55 PM

Well so far I've been able to do some datalogging of cruising, cold starts and power runs in 1st/2nd gear to 6000rpm.

 

Shows that its knocking above 5000rpm (most likely due to being lean).

 

Haven't been able to change anything yet as I'm having trouble getting it to 'test flash' the ecu, hopefully the programming dude sorts it out and adds the rest of the functions soon.



#10 NQRSoobee

NQRSoobee

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 126 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Adelaide

Posted 15 June 2017 - 09:50 PM

Ah, an OBD2 device.  Have fun, looking forward to reading what you discover.

 

With the engine knock what Octane fuel are you using?  (As most users of this forum know they use a different fuel rating scale in North America compared to Oz.)  A full tank of high octane rated fuel would be a good clue to ruling in/out if it's leaning out or not if it still knocks (unless it's a bad batch of fuel).  Have you ruled out the possibly of having a slightly blocked injector / fuel system?  (In my own case I had a partially blocked fuel filter, so far the fuel pump is still working well.)

 

Kinda curious to find out what you find out.  :-)



#11 crjohnson

crjohnson

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 16 June 2017 - 10:00 PM

I had the injectors cleaned and tested before installing the new motor and also put in a new pump and filter maybe 6 months before that so hopefully they are all ok.

 

Was running 95 at the time of that log I think. usually run that or 98 (BP)

 

Apparently the reflashing issue might be due to different wiring as compared to the yanks/Canadian cars. The software guy just says to "connect the green test-mode connectors" and it will reflash, but that's not working for me so we're trying to find out what else it could be.



#12 Robert

Robert

    Brappp

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central Coast, NSW
  • Interests:Door Frames

Posted 16 June 2017 - 10:23 PM

In the gd denso ecu's you need a flashing connector, which plugs into the something near the green text mode connectors and allows to you flash to the computer

#13 surge

surge

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 168 posts

Posted 17 June 2017 - 08:33 AM

The flashing connector or reflash adapter instructions are here at the bottom of the page with a photo:

http://www.scoobyped...ectingToYourECU

#14 crjohnson

crjohnson

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 22 June 2017 - 03:40 PM

Thanks guys, we found the little white plug that needed the jumper, all good! Seems to work so far

#15 crjohnson

crjohnson

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 24 October 2017 - 09:40 AM

For anyone interested in how this stuff is going try this link:

 

http://www.rs25.com/...801#post3463801

 

I've put some results of before/after data logs with a wideband O2 which have been interesting.. Soon to come will be a TD04L install!



#16 crjohnson

crjohnson

    Trusted Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 136 posts

Posted 04 April 2018 - 09:13 PM

Hey guys, just thought I post a little update for anyone interested on how this software is going.

 

Still slowly getting my turbo setup ready.. I installed a bolt-in and plug-in bosch 3bar map sensor the other day, changed the settings in the ECU and its been running perfectly so far. Wouldn't even know that I changed it! I changed the VE table in the ecu to run from 20-180kpa (about 11psi boost, I didn't bother with the excess 18ish psi the sensor is capable of as I'll never run that on this engine!. Standard is 20-103kpa..), though the engine is still in the N/A state..

 

Before changing the map sensor I logged some afr's with a decent wideband sensor. With the delta 1500 cams and standard VE table figures, 4000-6100rpm (2nd gear), afr's went from 13:1 @ 4000, to 14:1 @4600rpm, then slowly tapered off to 12.8:1 at 6000rpm. Pretty lean..

 

After increasing the VE figures it runs a pretty damn stable 12.5:1 afr. 3rd gear also showed VERY similar before and after figures.

 

If I can get it on a dyno I'll try playing with the timing figures. Car goes way better than it used to with the new cams that's for sure!



#17 Robert

Robert

    Brappp

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 9,409 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central Coast, NSW
  • Interests:Door Frames

Posted 04 April 2018 - 09:40 PM

Thats awesome.
Keen to see how it goes





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users