#1 RX25SE

RX25SE

...............Car nerd................ now a H6 pilot

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 12,751 posts
  • Interests:Cars with chrome bumpers!

Posted 01 October 2020 - 12:37 PM

After 7 years of ownership COVID-19 boredom has led me to create a build thread..

Vehicle in question is a MY07 30R specB 6MT in black (not my first colour choice but meh).

I decided I wanted a H6 manual wagon so the hunt led me to take a day trip to Canberra for a look. While I was there, I visited the workshop that maintained the car and discovered the center diff had been replaced and it had been tuned. I did the deal, drove home and flew back a few weeks later to pick it up. In that time the owner was having the gearbox rebuilt due to a faulty 4th gear synchro, so I organised for a new clutch to be fitted while the box was out.

So this is what I have been doing with it since 2013.....

Looked like this when I got it home and I had already removed the roof racks as they look like poo. The factory rims look dark as some type of stripper was used to clean them and it cooked the paint.

day 1

Quickly got sick of the floor mats sliding around so I knocked up some brackets.
floor mat

Replaced the damaged factory rims with...... factory rims! Also chucked on some OEM mudflaps.
mud flaps

Quads were needed, so found some Hi Tech (I think?) mufflers

quads1

Then some CS9 rims

CS9s

Added a strut brace to prove to myself they make no difference on a road going GenIV.....they don't.

strut brace

Not totally happy with the exhaust, some headers were added.
header

I had to expand the inner pipe to the outer pipe so I could weld it to the header flange. PITA job...
dual wall
swage

Left the 3rd cat out as well (I'm not a cat person)

3rd cat

The paint was a bit down when I bought it so I have had the bonnet and front bar resprayed. Too hard to strip the bar cover so I fitted a new one and sold off the old one.
Tailgate and rear spoiler were also recently resprayed.
bar cover