8 replies to this topic

#1 02_Liberty_RX

02_Liberty_RX

• Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 30 September 2015 - 05:46 PM

Hey guys,
Just wondering, I pulled the drivers door trim off my Gen 3 lib a couple of days ago to discover that the speaker was on its way out. I had a look and the existing speaker had wiring different to what I had seen. I've got a couple of questions:
How come there is four cables instead of two for the speaker?
What is the size of the speakers?
Are the fronts the same as the rears?
Can I use any speaker which is the right size? (As in 2 way or 3 way etc)
Noticing that the speakers are wired up from the side as opposed to more to the rear, is it hard wiring them up if they are the 'more to the rear' type?

Any help I'd much appreciated as I'm pretty new to this!
Thanks guys :)

#2 RacerX

RacerX

Trusted Member

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 276 posts
  • Interests:Cars, Gaming.....

Posted 01 October 2015 - 06:04 PM

Hey man so...

Don't know what you'd mean about 4 wires coming from the speakers should only be 2 positive and negative

For speaker size you'd want 6.5" inch but try for shallow ones as the doors are quite thin, or use spacers
Yes the fronts are the same size as rears

In terms of speaker the right size, you'd want a component system in the front and a coaxial in the rear 3 way

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#3 CRUISN

CRUISN

Doin it my way.

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 6,970 posts
  • Interests:Family, Surfing, Cars.

Posted 01 October 2015 - 06:45 PM

Front speakers have 4 wires in the plug as one pair powers the speaker, the other pair goes up to the tweeter.

OEM+

#4 02_Liberty_RX

02_Liberty_RX

• Members
  • Pip
  • 33 posts

Posted 01 October 2015 - 07:05 PM

Hey man so...

Don't know what you'd mean about 4 wires coming from the speakers should only be 2 positive and negative

For speaker size you'd want 6.5" inch but try for shallow ones as the doors are quite thin, or use spacers