• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Damien

Damien

• Members
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 14 November 2010 - 06:29 AM

So the time has come i have to replace the rear main seal on my liberty, just wondering so tips i have seen on other forums that some pull the engine out to replace it or could i just drop or could i just drop the AUTO box and what is this seperator plate that they talk about? i will be doing it a home on car stands and jacks and when i was a third year apprentice mechanic i had done plenty of rear main seals but never on a suby. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks Damien

#2 Jovi

Jovi

When one set of Twins is Just not enough.

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Interests:When one set of Twins is Just not enough.

Posted 14 November 2010 - 11:40 AM

I've taken engines out and gearbox's out of gen3's and fozza's but on jack and stands its a bitch doing either one... Some say its easier to pull the engine out then a gear box and some say its the other way around, but if i was doing it at home on stands id take the box out less things to undo...

I hope that help's you out...
Posted Image

#3 Evil_VZ-T

Evil_VZ-T

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,014 posts

Posted 14 November 2010 - 11:48 AM

If your doing it on the ground, Pull the engine out, 6x14mm bolts for the gearbox/starter, 2x 14mm for the engine mounts, Fuel lines, wiring harness plug, airbox, radiator, A/c pump and P/s and alternator. undo the 6x14mm for the exhaust too and she is out. Just remember to undo the flex plate bolts first through the inspection plate up top and that the torque converter doesnt fall out and leak fluid everywhere.

all you need is an engine crane... should take you 1.5 hours max

Have fun:)

PS: if the engine has not been out before it will be very tight on the dowels. spray with rost off or WD40 before you start.