11 replies to this topic

#1 implanted4

implanted4

• Members
  • Pip
  • 79 posts

Posted 05 December 2011 - 11:59 AM

Rebuilding a Subaru Short Block

Pics can be found in this thread but they are all general pics i took during my build, not really specific to the guide.

Im writing this guide to give people who may be considering a short engine rebuild, a little insight into what is required, and therefore make a decision as to whether they wish to risk trying it themselves.
Please note that im not a professional mechanic, or engine builder, but rather someone who has above average skills and the inclination to try anything once (mind you, ive built 3 subaru engines now and my own twice, and had no failures attributed to my negligence or error. My only fail was due to reusing a set of head studs that fatigued.

. That’s not to say, that this information is an absolute perfect list or instruction. Id much prefer if any potential engine build is researched and checked by someone who knows what they are doing. This guide is merely to assist with a build. If I have omitted any steps, or made an error, I will rectify asap, so please don’t flame me. It is a guide based on my memory of my experience, and should be treated as any information sourced on the web, it is not a explicit 100% correct instruction. I take no responsibility for errors made by anyone attempting to follow this guide.

The golden rule in carpentry, is measure twice, cut once. The same applies. Measure, and remeasure before commiting to anything.

Cleanliness is absolutely necessary> Do NOT WORK WITH DIRTY HANDS. Make sure your work area is clean and uncluttered.

Cover any machined parts overnight with clean dry cloths.