74 replies to this topic

#1 Liberty

Liberty

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 23,869 posts
  • Interests:tl;dr

Posted 31 May 2013 - 08:19 AM

Welcome to the aquarium enthusiast topic. Allow me to introduce myself once again.

My name's Garry! (without the extra 'r' and exclamation mark) and after about 12 days since starting up my new Aqua One 620 90L aquarium, I have decided to make this topic for all aquarium enthusiasts on SubyClub. I am new to the cichlid, pronounced sɪklɨd, world so cut me some slack if I ask a silly question or don't know the answer to a simple question, we've all gotta start somewhere. Now I've got some basic knowledge when it comes down to maintaining a tank and feeding the fish (I've had comet goldfish for many years) but my knowledge of cichlids on a more broad scale is fairly poor. Hopefully we can help each other out and change that. I am slowly getting the grasp for things though and I am a keen and patient learner. I'll cut things short for this intro though as many of you already know me.

Here are the current cichlids I have:

• Mazey - Kaligono (Nimbochromis polystigma) - female
  • Tweety and Bolt - Electric Yellow (Labidochromis caeruleus) - female and male
  • Avatar - Eureka Red Peacock (Aulonocara jacobfreibergi) - male
  • Sharkbait - Rainbow Shark (Epalzeorhynchos frenatum) - male
  • Hoover - Common Pleco (Hypostomus plecostemus)

I couldn't have collected such an awesome range of cichlids if it wasn't for the dedication, patience and extremely perfectly customer service offered by Andrew over at Labyrinth Aquariums in Campsie. I will definitely be a long-term customer and highly recommend Andrew for absolutely everything and anything to do with aquariums.

Here are some snaps of my brand new aquarium. Much more to come of course but we've all gotta learn to crawl before we can walk.

Here is that tank as it stood during the 7 day cycle.

HQudfY9.jpg

Here is my chosen substrate.

PEAiJyQ.jpg